top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichaela T

Where is your head at?

Updated: May 17, 2022

2 years later - Where is your head at? What does 'Normal'?


Over the past 18 months with the pandemonium when all of our routines and ways of living a normal life and habits were completely thrown out, ripped up, and dumped in the bin without any of our control #FanfeckintasticNOT. I do very much understand that this was due to the severity of the situation and to help keep people safe, I just want to talk about it in terms of how I experienced the last 18 months and how things have changed from April 2020 until August 2021.


I'll be the first to admit that I enjoyed every day that I was off by doing things like going on long pushes, online shopping, spending some well needed time at home to sleeping in while also doing some work from home. I think that I can speak for a lot of people when I say during the first couple of weeks with all of the changes and uncertainty I was really nervous, just at the thought of everything shutting down and all of the new measures that were being brought in. I mean was this going to be the norm for the rest of forever :(. I just kept thinking when was I going to be able to see the people I love and care about again and will things ever simmer down and stop!?!


I'm sure I'm not the only one who has found that with all the extra thinking time at home without all of life should like to change, things you have to work on or work through whatever the case may be. I liked to describe the time we had to spend at home was like: It's was one thing when we were able to go and do whatever we wanted and we could choose to stay home, It's completely different when you are told that you can't go out and do anything - and now all that you want to do is be able to come and go as you please. lol


When I was planning this post it got me thinking about where I am now and where I was then and how things have changed in comparison I have comprised a list of bullet points below as a good way to show myself and anyone reading how things really can change in nearly two years ( would definitely recommend doing this, as it's interesting to see how or if things have changed - the good and the bad)...


April 2020

* Was given the option to work from home in early April.

* Shops, schools, restaurants, bars, cinemas, and everything non-essential closed.

* Airports at very low capacity and 'Essential' travel only.

* Hand sanitizers, gloves, and social distancing 2mm introduced.

* Essential travel only and Essential services.

* Updates, covid rules are all played on tv and radio daily.

* Zooms, Baking, Challenges, Movie Marathons, new hobbies.


July - January 2021

* Went back to work in early July.

* It was so good being able to see people again and get back to some form of normal routine.

* It was great being able to catch up and talk to people again.

* I started to realize the things that I'd like to do and decided to take action on the things that I had been putting off for so long.

* Celebrated my Godchild's First Holy Communion. <3

* I figured out what I wanted to do and what I wanted to make happen eventually.

* Then eventually they did happen.

* Handed in my two weeks notice at work (Risky move especially with what was going on).

In hindsight, I should have stayed for another while longer purely because it really was so uncertain if things were ever going to get back to 'normal' and recover.

* Celebrated my 30th Birthday at home with my nearest and dearest, living my best life! <3

* I was very much thinking that it should be fine, I mean surely things will get back to normal again soon, right??

* I did have all the time to finish my Medical Secretarial Diploma.

* I had a lot of time to realize the things about myself that I wanted to change and improve on.


January - June 2021

* Joined the Boundless Babes Society.

* Connected with women with disabilities online through BBS.

* Started weekly wheelchair dance classes.

* Started weekly adapted workout classes.

* Decided on what my short, medium and long-term goals were.

* Found out I'm going to be an aunt again - three times :)

* Finally took the plunge and set up my blog - for my love of writing, perspective, and helping people.

* Finished and received my Medical Secretarial Diploma.


June to August 2021

* Completed stage 1 of BBS.

* Started stage 2 of BBS.

* Went on the first holiday with the gang in nearly 2 years - easily the best holidays we have been on in ages, so many adventures.

* I realized that I love being out in nature and exploring so much.

* I was offered my dream job in late July :).

* I got back into going to the gym.

* I got back into Slimming World and a healthier lifestyle.


As well as reflecting on all of the different things that have and hasn'tcan't happened through out the past 18 months I wanted to take time to reflect on all of the different things that I have learned over the last while:


* I love being as independent as possible and doing things I want to do whenever.

* I also love spending time with family and friends.

* I love being out doing things and going on adventures.

* I love time on my own.

* I love having a routine and being focused.

* I love exercising and going to the gym.

* I really love having catch-ups and reunions and being able to give elbow hugs.

* I love being able to help people.

* I love and cant wait for: having a half-day in work, a day off, a bank holiday, being able to plan holidays, or just being excited about being off for Christmas or birthdays, etc.


I know all of the bullet points that I have listed above make it seem like it was all sunshine and rainbows and that's just not true, there were so many families around the country and the world that lost loved ones so suddenly from covid and other awful effects of the pandemic. I can only speak for myself when I say that sometimes being bored was one of the only worries, then it was being anxious about the unknown, about being out in public again, being nervous about how much things have changed and how to adjust to the 'new normal' whatever that means.


I would really encourage you to make a list of things in any format you want, just as a way to take stock of the things that once were and have now changed and then look and take note of the things that have stayed the same and the things that you are planning on changing in the very near future whatever applies to you. I really hope that you enjoyed reading this as much as I did writing it. I know that this time was simply horrible for people around the world, especially in terms of their mental health and wellbeing - Please remember that it's okay if you are not okay! <3. I have included information for some different resources for you or someone you know that may be struggling at this time as a result.


Aware Ireland - this service provides support and education for those living with Depression, Anxiety, Bipolar Disorder, or Mood Disorders.


Pieta House - this service provides support for people and communities in crisis by providing free and accessible services to all.


Mental Health Ireland


Jigsaw - young people's health in mind


Happy Monday and Happy Reading :)















7 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page